Home  >  About  >  National Committee

National Committee & Representatives

ACNN holds an Annual General Meeting (AGM) each year during the Annual National Conference. Nominations for National Committee office-bearer and ordinary committee member positions are called for prior to the AGM, with voting taking place at the AGM. All committee positions become vacant each year and therefore are open to all members to nominate for a position. The National Committee comprises the office-bearers and ordinary committee members. There may be additional members for specific roles as determined by the National Committee.

The National Committee has a full day face-to-face meeting in association with the National Conference and teleconferences monthly. Additional face-to-face meetings may be arranged if required.

The committee for 2018 to 2019

Appointed at the AGM on 31 August 2018

President: A/Prof Karen Walker
Vice President: Anndrea Flint
Secretary and Public Officer: Shelley Reid
Treasurer: Samantha Lannan
Ordinary Members: Amy Forbes-Coe, Linda Ng (Professional Officer), Cassandra Prezioso
Conference Coordinator

President: A/Prof Karen Walker - NSW
E-mail: president@acnn.org.au

Karen Walker is a Clinical Associate Professor with both Sydney Nursing and Sydney Medical School, University of Sydney. She is a Clinical Research Fellow in Grace Centre for Newborn Care at the Children’s Hospital at Westmead and a Senior Research Fellow with the Cerebral Palsy Alliance Research Foundation. Karen was awarded her PhD in 2011 for her thesis entitled “Neurodevelopmental outcome at one year of age of infants who have undergone early major cardiac or non-cardiac surgery” and continues  her research on the neurodevelopmental outcomes for infants admitted to neonatal intensive care units.

Karen is interested in mentoring and developing leadership skills in neonatal nurses. As the president of ACNN, Karen is very much enjoying working with the executive, branches, special interest groups and members of ACNN to promote the profession of neonatal nursing.

Vice President: Anndrea Flint - QLD


Treasurer: Samantha Lannan - TAS


E-mail: treasurer@acnn.org.au

Secretary and Public Officer:  Shelley Reid - NSW

RN RM BAppSc(Nursing), BA(Psych), Postgrad Dip Editing & Publishing, MPH(Health Promotion)

 E-mail: thesecretary@acnn.org.au

Shelley has a background in neonatal nursing and currently works as a clinical audit and research clinical nurse specialist at the Royal Prince Alfred Hospital Newborn Care in Sydney. She was founding editor from 1998 and for the first six years of Neonatal, Paediatric and Child Health Nursing and continues to work as a freelance editor. Her particular interests revolve around developmentally supportive care for the preterm neonate, the psychological aspects of preterm infants within families, family centred care and professional aspects of neonatal nursing.  Shelley is currently a PhD candidate at the Susan Wakil School of Nursing and Midwifery, University of Sydney.

Professional Officer: Dr Linda Ng - QLD

E-mail: theprofessionalofficer@acnn.org.au 

Ordinary Members:

Amy Forbes-Coe (QLD)
Cassandra Prezioso (VIC)

College Representatives

International Liaison: Dr Karen Walker

Updated 31 Aug 2018