2019 Visiting Scholar Tour

In 2019, ACNN will host, for the first time, a Visiting Scholar Tour, instead of the National Conference. This is to support neonatal nurses to attend the Council of International Neonatal Nurses (COINN) conference is being held in Auckland in May 2019. The COINN conference is a triennial event that rotates globally and is a wonderful opportunity for neonatal nurses in Australia to attend an International conference, with an amazing line-up of world renown speakers.

The 2019 Visiting Scholar is Associate Professor Nancy Feeley, School of Nursing, McGill University, Canada

Dr. Feeley’s research focuses on the psychological well-being of, and resources available to, parents of very low birth-weight (VLBW) infants. She received the FRSQ Clinician Research Scholar Career Award for 2008 - 2012 for this work. She has conducted a clinical trial to evaluate the efficacy of an intervention program to reduce anxiety and enhance the parenting behavior of mothers of VLBW infants, examined the responses of parents to the NICU environment, compared the responses of mothers and fathers, and examined post-traumatic stress symptoms in mothers of VLBW infants.

Event dates

  • Brisbane - Monday 21st October
  • Canberra - Wednesday 23rd October
  • Melbourne - Friday 25th October
  • Adelaide - Wednesday 30th October
  • Perth - Monday 4th November
  • Sydney - Saturday 9th November

Programmes for each event can be found under the respective branch event page.

The Perth event details will be listed here when available.

2020 National Conference - Canberra 

For all enquires please contact the conference committee at conference@acnn.org.au 

An annual conference for neonatal nurses has been held since 1997, starting with the Association of Neonatal Nurses of NSW (ANN) then nationally from 2002 under the name of the Australian Neonatal Nurses Association (ANNA) until the association became a College in 2006.

The annual conference of the College rotates between the states and territories of Australia.

  • 2018 - Launceston, Tasmania

  • 2017 - Fraser Island, Queensland

  • 2016 - Melbourne, Victoria

  • 2015 - Sydney, New South Wales

  • 2014 - Adelaide, South Australia

  • 2013 - Townsville, Queensland

  • 2012 - Hunter Valley, New South Wales

  • 2011 - Hobart, Tasmania

  • 2010 - Canberra, Australian Capital Territory

  • 2009 - Darwin, Northern Territory

  • 2008 - Gold Coast, Queensland

  • 2007 - Melbourne, Victoria

  • 2006 - Perth, Western Australia

Updated 8 March 2019